Arbeitgeberbewertungen für CIA | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für CIA

Aktualisiert am 8. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
69%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
67%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
CIA CEO Gina Haspel
Gina Haspel
9 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (102)

    „Fantastic Place to Work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - IT Project Manager in Arlington, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei CIA gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Meaningful mission, learning environment, dedicated workforce, varied requirements, team atmosphere.

    Kontras

    Washington DC is exciting place to live but housing costs are high. Security Clearance takes quite a bit of time.

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to also pursue mid career hires. Existing integration programs were excellent!

    CIA2019-03-01
  2. „Okay government agency”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Human Resources 
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei CIA (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Travel Ability to move around every 2 years if you so choose

    Kontras

    Promotion/Advancement Location You have to make sure you get to know EVERYONE in order to get promoted it's not really based on your work or doing a good job

    Rat an das Management

    Stop trying to get free labor from employees by having them do all this process improvement and corporate giveback and still don't promote.

    CIA2019-10-08
  3. „Super-duper work for a bunch of super-duper American patriots!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Fixer-upper in Langley, VA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei CIA (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Money and benefits.

    Kontras

    Selling one's soul and committing treason...amoral activity etc.

    Rat an das Management

    Turn your HQ into a parking lot.

    CIA2019-09-02
  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Best place to work in the US Government”

    SternSternSternSternStern
     
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei CIA gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Diversity, mission focused, long-term career.

    Kontras

    Often seen as a political vehicle for the current administration.

    CIA2019-06-28
  5. Hilfreich (26)

    „Join the Military. Less Painful w/ Better Benefits”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Manager in McLean, VA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei CIA gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You can move from job to job every two to three years, so you're never bored. An abundance of training opportunities. A mission that can matter (depending upon where you are). Proud to see Gina H. as our Director.

    Kontras

    Where to start? Polygraphers who accuse you of sexually abusing your own children just to get a rise out of you. Your life is the Agency's, they insist on knowing everything so don't expect ANY privacy. Survive sexual abuse? They'll want ALL the details on record/video. Unqualified people in positions of power (bc they couldn't fill the position with someone qualified) making the calls. People with whom you've never... directly reported make career making/ending decisions and rumor/innuendo amongst these decision makers make or break your career and you have ZERO recourse. The "Directors Advisory Group" is a useless PAR bullet, they will do nothing to upset their career plans. Seniors expecting credit for your promotion (egotistic "I got you there") when you've done the years of hard work and seven day work weeks to get there. You're in a bubble the entire work day: no personal phone, no encrypted "open line" so you don't want ANYONE calling your work phone lest they reveal private information every intel service in the world is listening to. You may not even have Internet access (no, I'm not kidding here). Day one they tell you "it's harder to get into the Agency than into Harvard or Yale" so the ego building begins right away. The "I'm a special snowflake" message continues, becomes an integral part of self-identity and makes it tough to leave. But for my friends and colleagues still in, there is a better life on the outside. You may think "what could I possibly be qualified to do in the outside world??" but those of us out now know the private sector recognizes the intense responsibility we've had -- and they reward accordingly. Reach out to us on social media before you begin your job search bc you WILL under estimate your worth and we want to support you. It's a rough transition. But you'll have freedom, no longer living paycheck to paycheck on Fed salary in NoVA, no longer the constant paranoia, no longer the "how do I fill out this basic form when it asks for employer?" Truth - the work in private sector will never rival our Agency's work and... like a divorce, it will take years to get over the end of your Agency relationship/obsession. And be prepared, many of your "still in" friends *will* ghost you. Once you're out you're dead to them, out of distrust or CI paranoia. You will serve in war zones, have injuries but you'll have NONE of the benefits of our military. (No record of service when you're a spy.) If you're in a high-demand job (i.e. counter terrorism) then plan to move into another job once you've had a kid -- there is no work/life balance in some of these positions unless you have a stay at home parent or nanny (neither of which you'll afford on a fed salary). The truly exhilarating work will demand time from your family - period, end of story. You marry someone on the inside or expect to divorce (if you're in the D.O.) And if you read this and apply anyway, then those of us who've been through the process have no interest in hearing your "woe is me, I sacrificed for my country" story. We've all been there done that but didn't have the benefit of Glassdoor to know what we were getting into.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Too many systemic problems to list here. We tried to pay more than the GS schedule and that was shot down. We're constantly hemorrhaging tech talent to 2x/3x income increase to contractors/private sector. I left as a senior 14 and most of colleagues had all ready separated. The brain drain truly concerns me but I had to make a "save enough for retirement" as well as quality of life decision -- and many of us,... unfortunately, are doing the same. And unfortunately, it's the "I'll stay in place" mentalities that will remain when the overachieving Type As leave for the private sector because high performers aren't afraid of the private sector.

    Mehr anzeigen
    CIA2019-05-30
  6. Hilfreich (4)

    „A good place to work unless you are caring for an elderly parent or child with mental health issues; single moms beware”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Education and Training Specialist in Washington, DC
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei CIA gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    service to country, work with intelligent peers, good federal benefits (insurance, vacation), job satisfaction

    Kontras

    CIA managers are not trained to recognize FMLA or ADA protected absences, particularly for sandwich generation employees, or those with caregiving responsibilities. This disproportionately affects female employees, in particular, single mothers. In several instances I witnessed, this had a biased and negative effect on employees with caregiving responsibilities, both in caring for elderly parents, and young... children. Managers consistently failed to effectively recognize and timely employ common accommodations such as flexible scheduling, intermittent leave without pay, and access to leave donation programs. Even worse, personnel evaluation policies fail to include language regarding extenuating circumstances, making it easy to paint capable employees struggling to balance medical caregiving needs of parents and children as poor performers. Although many CIA managers are willing to work with their employees to balance life and work during times of medical crises, CIA policy appears not to have changed much in the last few decades.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Provide support to all employees, not just warzone veterans, who are experiencing trauma. Adopt the stipulations, if not the full policy, of FMLA Military Exigency Laws. Allow employees caring for the children of deployed employees to utilize time-off under FMLA Military Exigency. Expand donated leave bank eligibility to include time off under FMLA Military Exigency qualifying circumstances. Require all... managers to take training on FMLA and ADA qualifying absences. Establish an independent reviewer within the agency to assist in determining if employee absences are qualifying under FMLA or ADA. Ensure employees have an advocate who understands the full gamut of options for employee accommodations. Include in personnel evaluation, reasonable guidance for employees with extenuating or mitigating circumstances such as domestic violence, caregiving responsibilities, and FMLA and ADA qualifying absences.

    Mehr anzeigen
    CIA2019-05-31
  7. „Serve Your Country and Enjoy It”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Training Coordinator in Langley, VA
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei CIA gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Being part of the solution to a vital need.

    Kontras

    The same "not-so-good" things that happen at any company.

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to your employees.

    CIA2019-05-21
  8. „awesome”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Political Analyst in Washington, DC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei CIA (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    fun and cool enjoyable intresting

    Kontras

    stressful a lot of work but all worth it

    Rat an das Management

    nothing just part of job

    CIA2019-05-09
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great place”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Ops Officer 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei CIA gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    fascinating culture, salary, travel, colleagues

    Kontras

    traffic, hours, emergencies, some managers

    CIA2019-02-18
  10. „Great Place”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Analyst 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei CIA (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Everything from pay to lifestyle

    Kontras

    Isolating at times and secluded

    CIA2019-01-14
88 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden