Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Better World Books | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Better World Books

Aktualisiert am 10. Jul 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

52 Bewertungen gefunden

3.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
44%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
Better World Books CEO Dustin Holland (no image)
Dustin Holland
0 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „Power Trips”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Team Leader in Mishawaka, IN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Some cool people work there.

    Kontras

    I would have never left if certain team leads didn't notoriously stir up childish, unprofessional drama that certain upper management completely ate up. I loved the company until that happened. I tried to stand up for what was right and got shut down. I, therefore, had to contunue watching other "leadership" bully their subordinates and make up complete lies about them, just to get them in trouble for their own,... sickening entertainment. Ridiculous.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Stop feeding on drama and look at how certain "leadership" is negatively impacting the entire culture of the company.

    Better World Books2019-07-10

    Reaktion von Better World Books

    September 5, 2019Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience as a team lead at Better World Books. We are continuously providing coaching and training to employees who are in leadership positions. Bullying has no place in our workplace and we strive to eradicate any reported instances of such behavior.

  2. Hilfreich (3)

    „You're going to get burnt out.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Shelver in Mishawaka, IN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    1. You could always count on the schedule staying the same. 2. The work wasn't terribly difficult. 3. Paid lunches. 4. Started accruing time off right away. 5. Health Insurance.

    Kontras

    1. Mandatory overtime on the regular (Unions didn't fight for 40 hours just for this kind of stuff to happen). 2. No opportunities for advancement (I tried to get a different, more important position, but whenever someone leaves a position there, the company either just remove the position entirely, or just move someone who was already in a similar position there). 3. Dust everywhere (Like 10 years worth of it,... and they didn't clean it regularly). 4. Minimal pay increases (The max you could get was an extra 50 cents and that was after a year). 5. Treatment of different departments was not equal (Scanning got a piece rate while Shelving and Shipping didn't). 6. Unrealistic goals (Which was why there was always mandatory overtime). 7. Little recognition of the majority of the employees (I mean, they would say they couldn't do what they did without us, and they were right, but didn't show it in any meaningful way. There's only so many T-Shirts, certificates, "Thank You!" cards, and meals you can hand out to people before they realize just how empty those gestures of gratitude are and that they are worth at least twice what they are being paid). 8. No competitive pay (I did more than the minimum in my department every day and I was being paid the same as the guy who was not or just barely making the minimum). 9. If a team is doing more than the required minimum, they will increase the minimum goal instead of giving adequate raises to the people who do the most (Literally happened to my team regularly and we always tried to push back, and it's one of the reasons why I left for good). 10. Ten hour work days (On top of the mandatory overtime, it's unbearable. It was better when we were working 8 hour days with mandatory overtime because at least we got two extra hours to ourselves). 11. A lot of the place seemed to be just slapped together without too much thought. The shelves were all connected with 2x4 boards so the wouldn't fall over, but the shelves were all different in places, and sometimes some of the shelves that you stood books up on wouldn't quite fit one way or another. 12. They bought a robot that didn't work (It literally was barely used at all during the time that I was there, and more often than not it would muck up how we did things). 13. Broken promises (We literally were told that we were going to not have mandatory overtime regularly for two years. I actually left and went back because I needed some work and I had heard it had gotten better, but it had not gotten better. If it had been better, it was only during the time that I was away). 14. They remove teams and let people go on a whim (Whenever we recommended a new team to make the overall work space better, they would try it for a while, then drop it suddenly when it was actually going good for us. A story: we gained a team of people who would "Flush" old books that weren't selling from the system and the shelves to be recycled. This would free up space for shelvers to work, as often there would be little space to put books on the shelves. The flushers freed up so much space, but then they removed the team and space started running out again. And as for people, I heard that after I left, they gave my team lead an ultimatum: be demoted or leave the company. She left and I think that that was one of the bigger mistakes they made, as that specific team lead was probably one of the best parts about the team, and she could do the job that her team did). 15. You're going to wind up doing the same thing every day. I find that after more than 2 years working there, I only remember a few specific moments from all the time there, and all of the actual work just makes up a blur of memory that has no significance to me. It's almost like I lost my identity while I worked there.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    To be honest, get new management that is closer to what the founders originally wanted. You give to those who are in need, but fail to realize that your employees also need, and they definitely need to be treated like human beings instead of expendable machines.

    Better World Books2019-06-03

    Reaktion von Better World Books

    September 5, 2019Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We will review with the leadership team. Some of what you articulate here is a result of the ebb and flow of our business; we use flushers intermittently throughout the year, not day in and day out. Overtime also is required when we need to meet certain business SLA's we have. Our goal is to provide the best possible work experience for our employees while meeting the needs of our business metrics and your feedback will assist us in this endeavor.

    Weniger anzeigen
  3. „Great people to work with”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Flexibility, free books, nice people

    Kontras

    Disorganized when it comes to time off requests.

    Better World Books2019-04-08

    Reaktion von Better World Books

    September 5, 2019Human Resources Director

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience working at Better World Books. It sounds like it was overall, a good experience. We will review our time off request process and see where we are falling short.

  4. Hilfreich (3)

    „They only care about themselves”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Better World Books als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Good benefits, if you can afford them

    Kontras

    They don't really care about their employees. They act like they do, but they really do not. You can tell by the rotating door of employees in and out of the place.

    Better World Books2019-02-06
  5. „Great Place to Make Advancements”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Shipper/Receiver 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Better World Books als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    If you bust your tail, and start at the bottom like 99% of every other Job I've had, after 60 days, you can bump into a Higher Up position, if you show some talent. Felony Friendly

    Kontras

    Low Start-up pay for everyone.

    Rat an das Management

    Give more wiggle room for "Ground Floor"/New Employees the ability to bump into a Higher Job opportunity sooner than the 60day wait. Pay the Folks that work hard and keep BwB afloat what that are worth. Ie- Lady that runs the Machine Crew. I've heard her mention her pay, and she is non-stop hustle and bustle.

    Better World Books2019-01-26
  6. „Good So Far”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Better World Books als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Healthy Work Environment, reasonable hours and home/work life

    Kontras

    its a warehouse facility

    Better World Books2019-01-09
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Troubling Direction and Discretion”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Mishawaka, IN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Genuinely friendly office atmosphere most of the time Relaxed dress code Positive social mission, even if it's mostly window dressing to attract customers Many team leads and veteran employees work hard and care about the company's mission and direction and are great to work with

    Kontras

    The social mission is, again largely window dressing used as a self-serving attempt to distinguish themselves against their many competitors Narrow product margin means this will always be a struggling industry / company, and you feel it every quarterly meeting Certain senior managers seem to have entirely fickle approaches to employees, sometimes retaining those that consistently perform poorly and have... repeated, even egregious examples of poor conduct for years while getting rid of others that perform well over pettiness or trivial circumstances Turnover is remarkably high even after wages were increased, and has been for years, it's hard not to question the recruiting / hiring / retention processes

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Both before and after working here, BWB is a company that seems like it's still not living up to it's potential. Management should more seriously investigate how they hire, and how and why their senior managers have been terminating. This is also a company with a great social mission that still doesn't do enough to make that mission the forefront of their identity. BWB's social media presence continues to be a... mixture of hackneyed cliche filler and just announcing their latest sale -- AKA what companies were doing with social media 10 years ago. You're an e-commerce corporation, do better.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Better World Books2018-12-03
  8. „Great place to work.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good leadership and interesting work.

    Kontras

    Volatile industry so there is always risk

    Better World Books2018-11-18
  9. „Title”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    The company was fine to work for.

    Kontras

    Boring and overall doing the same repeated task.

    Better World Books2018-09-27
  10. „Ended well”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Scanner in South Bend, IN
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Better World Books gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Received a raise from $9 to $11.50,. Managers are getting rid of rude people. Free books and great people to work with. HR is really nice and helpful.

    Kontras

    Focus on numbers. Hot and long hours not enough breaks. Leads bark numbers at you all day and let bossy people run the show.

    Rat an das Management

    Give employees who are trying more time to get numbers.

    Better World Books2018-08-11
52 Bewertungen gefunden