Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Audley Travel | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Audley Travel

Aktualisiert am 13. Oct 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

190 Bewertungen gefunden

4.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
86%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
99%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Audley Travel CEO Nick Longman
Nick Longman
114 Bewertungen
  1. „Country Specialist”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Audley Travel (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Amazing company culture. So laid back and everyone is able to be 100% themselves. They take and action employee feedback seriously and swiftly. For example, In my short time there they've changed the working hours and increased base salary substantially. Never seen anything like it! Although the job itself is tough, the team spirit and strong management makes coming to work fun and the days go quickly. There is no... corporate hierarchy at the company, and everyone is friends with everyone. Company contributes massively to health insurance and we have amazing coverage.Hands down the best place I've ever worked!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Base salary is pretty low for Boston. Very little opportunity for salary growth. I think it's something like 7k between starting salary and the top promotion you can get in sales, which feels stifling. The commission structure makes up for that, but with the ebbs and flows of travel, it can be a little inconsistent and uncomfortable. The company also enforces certain scheduling rules in an effort to give employees... work/life balance but the inflexibilities can feel a little like they feel they know what's best for you better than you do. PTO is higher than the national average, yet low for the travel industry (compared against past experience) and compared to what counterparts in the U.K. receive. There is this culture of "fairness" across compensation, time off, special circumstances etc. Seasoned employees/professionals don't want to be paid the same as the recent college grads or newbies etc. No room for negotiation on salary or benefits, so be prepared for that when you get the offer. Sometimes simple asks become uncomfortable or problematic requests that unnecessarily take up the time of higher management and time at the desk. These limitations have also led to the unnecessary feeling of being "stuck" at times when clear solutions are available. The company is currently in the process of launching new countries but doesn't take into consideration the risk this could be to employees, so doesn't offer a higher base or some sort of unique compensation plan until country is fully ramped and selling as expected, and isn't prepared to grow fast enough to bring in leads from the best audience or answer demands of what's being heard on the phone. May not be the case, but it seems as the company grows, the red tape grows thicker.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Drop the "fair" idea and recognize that each team/region functions and sells differently and should have a compensation plan to match. More PTO! We've been asking for a while now. We're travelers and we want the time to travel without rushing through or having to turn down opportunities!! General flexibility with employees on how they spend their time. Reconsider product to sales growth ratio. Be careful... of the growing pains and the impact they have on company culture, morale, and the idea of One Team. Consider the creative solutions and the willingness of your workforce to get things done the unconventional way.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Audley Travel2018-05-31
  2. „Country Specialist”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Country Specialist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Audley Travel (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Lots of office perks like food and exercise classes and parties

    Kontras

    Not a positive commission structure, heavy work environment with lots of people getting let go

    Rat an das Management

    Cultivate a happier work environment and compensate your employees more for the really difficult work that they do.

    Audley Travel2019-10-13
  3. „Fantastic company to work for”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Country Sales Specialist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Audley Travel gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The best support and management in a sales environment.

    Kontras

    Low pay for quite a bit of work and the commissions were also very low.

    Audley Travel2019-09-16
  4. „Dream Job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Country Specialist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Audley Travel (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    If you're passionate about travel, Audley is an incredibly fulfilling place to work. You'll talk to prospective clients about their travel dreams, craft the perfect itinerary and then assist in making that dream a reality. From the get-go, the initial training program is extremely comprehensive. It comprises of being sent to your respective country for several weeks and then spending over a month in the classroom... learning about various systems. One of the most impressive aspects of the company is their desire to improve all aspects of the business. They genuinely care for the well-being of their people and actively look for ways to constantly get better. The benefits here are excellent including extensive vacation time, 401K match and improve with seniority. While I cannot speak for all departments, my team is incredibly supportive and sincerely wants people to succeed in their roles.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    You'll need strong organization skills in order to keep up with some of the admin that's involved. This might occasionally require one to stay late every now and then. Additionally, some folks do better than others with the stress of hitting sales targets but that simply goes with the territory of this type of role.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Audley is a phenomenal place to work. You know you're at the right place when it's enjoyable to come in every single day. Hiring great people is a big part of this, so keep it up!

    Audley Travel2019-09-16
  5. „Inexperienced and unprofessional Regional managers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Travel Specialist in Witney, England

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Audley Travel gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The pros of working here are mainly the great location of their country office and most people you work with who are also passionate about travel.

    Kontras

    During 2019 the company changed their approach from excellent customer service to prioritize sales numbers due to the recession in the industry numbers because of the unstable political situation. They hired sales managers from other backgrounds with no understanding of the industry and the intensive level of work and customer service that providing a high end tailor made product involves. The company’s aim now is... just to push sales and nothing else, losing in most cases the real value of what we used to do, providing something excellent rather than just another number on the sales board. The main reason being, the board wants to sell the company next year so they want to make themselves as profitable as possible to attract buyers. This of course put themselves first over customer needs and had ruined the moral of many genuine specialist who always work hard to provide the best product and service for our guests. The low level of professionalism and communications skills in management in some departments creates a very negative environment in the teams as they seem to be more interested in taking care of themselves rather than their teams. The sales team suffers of terrible work life balance as most people have to work late most nights, in a very stressful environment. Keep in mind you will also need to work up to 16 weekends.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You need professional and experienced management who can relate to their teams and sympathize with the hard work they do rather than asking numeric questions as only aim of meetings. We have managers telling us that we have to make more sales so they can earn their bonuses which is the most selfish approach I have ever seen in the industry.

    Audley Travel2019-09-29

    Reaktion von Audley Travel

    October 8, 2019Group HR Director

    I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed working in our beautiful countryside office location and I agree, the people at Audley are great and all are passionate about travel. Our People Development team have devoted a huge amount of time to train and up-skill our managers over the years so I’m sorry to hear that you felt your manager was not supportive. We continue to develop our managers so there is consistency across all programmes and we’re proud to have invested in a company-wide management development program for all our managers this year. We also support progression into the Regional Sales Managers roles by offering ‘Stepping Stones’ programmes to anyone with aspirations to move into management. We’re delighted that 75% of our managers hired over the past 12 months in Witney were internal promotions; these managers receive extensive training prior to gaining their own team and having done the role of the Country Specialist previously, they know the pressure a sales role brings. The UK economy has presented its challenges since the announcement of Brexit and Audley are pleased to achieve growth during these uncertain times where some of our competitors are reporting losses. There are always pressures that comes with a sales role and Audley do try to balance this out. We have reduced our core hours to 37 hours based on employee feedback to help support a healthy work life balance and we do encourage all staff to work these hours. Our staff work on average of 12 weekends days per year with a day off in lieu either side of the weekend to ensure a 5 day working week. The travel industry is cyclical and with that there may be certain times of the year where you will be busier. We try to balance this additional work with wellbeing initiatives (on-site gym, lunch time exercise classes and yoga), social events and ensuring the kitchens are stocked with an array of fresh fruit, juices and smoothies. In addition, we are working on enhancing the flexibility we’re able to offer our staff to further support a healthy work life balance. We have offered 20 staff the opportunity to work remotely from home (or another location) in Q4 this year and we aim to extend this to more staff as our technology continues to improve throughout 2020.

    Weniger anzeigen
  6. „Fun and hard working company.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Country Specialist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Audley Travel (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Friendly and young environment with travel benefits

    Kontras

    long hours for the sales teams

    Audley Travel2019-09-25
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Mixed feelings”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Country Sales Specialist in London, England
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Audley Travel gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great socials, great team, good office atmosphere. Good opportunity for someone coming from uni wanting to get a foot into the door in sales, travel or both. They also lowered the sales targets for new starters which is great. Fam trips are a great idea and well worth it.

    Kontras

    Before I start I want to say that I genuinely believe that HR has good intentions to make this a great place to work. In the end however, there's an investor at the end of the chain and they are of course primarily interested in numbers. This may work well in the financial industry, but in the end Audley is a travel company selling "experiences" - as cheesy as it sounds. Most people who decide to work here do so out... of a passion for travel, cultures and to plan incredible trips for their clients. The result of the management pushing, pushing and pushing for quotes and bookings has been quite clear, our department has lost a third of their staff within the past year. The firm's employee retention is non existent, there's been a wave of experienced staff members leaving recently and it feels that really no one bats an eye. But let's start with the commission system. Of course your commission depends on how many bookings you make a month which is perfectly fine. The problem is that they will retrospectively deduct part of it (or even all of it) from your next paycheck if for whatever reason your client hasn't come back satisfied from their holiday. Reasons could be anything from a bad driver or guide in the country in question, a cancelled flight or any other reason which the country specialists don't have any control of. You are often the scapegoat for everything. Meaning, if your client decided they're not happy with something that's completely out of your control, you will be personally financially liable for it. If you're lucky and you dispute it, you might get it back if your manager is willing to help but it's a hassle and few people go that far. For a company that literally throws money at every customer not returning completely happy, sometimes in the thousands, this is just not good enough. Many reviews on here mention high stress levels and long hours. The pressure is indeed high, in the end it is a sales environment. The problem is that your job goes far beyond just being a sales specialist. You are an operations, admin, complaints and occasionally product representative at the same time. Generally not bad as it gives you a variety of tasks every day. The problem however is that your sales targets and customer service targets remain the same, there's simply no flexibility. There's pressure coming from all sides and oftentimes long hours are the only way to finish everything at the end of the day. The elites and turbos who have often worked at Audley for many years know how to do it but for new starters in particular this can be quite the challenge. Then there's clearly a lack of career progression opportunities, mainly due the fact that growing the sales department is the company's main concern. The product teams are kept small and while they are doing their best, there's a lot more potential to improve product, text and new ideas especially against the background of new competitors such as vivid travel, imagine and co. A travel operations department doesn't exist as every specialist manages both sales and operations process for each client. If you decide to work for Audley, make sure you're aware that you're making yourself financially liable for the next 18 months in case you decide that this job is not for you (unless they let you go during or right after probation). Otherwise they can make you pay up to 2k in fam costs. I have seen first hand how even close to these 18 months they will make specialists pay a substantial amount back. IT systems totally outdated and a pain. I know the above all sounds very negative, but if you've got a passion for sales and are quite organised then I'd give it a go. It's a good start into the industry, be it sales or travel and if you're committed and sales driven then it could be a great opportunity.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Take better care of your employees, especially the ones that have been there for a long time. Loosing too many experienced people ultimately means less bookings and a lack of experienced customer service. Happy employee = happy client, not the other way around.

    Audley Travel2019-08-29

    Reaktion von Audley Travel

    September 13, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your time at Audley. We take all feedback into consideration and are always openminded when it comes to ways we could improve things for our employees. I’m pleased to hear that you experienced great social events, along with being part of a great team and enjoyed our office atmosphere! Our employees are at the heart of what we do and therefore will always encourage a ‘one team’ philosophy and positive working environment. That said, I am concerned by your further comments and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about your whole experience in further detail. One of our core values is to ‘be passionate about travel’. We encourage our sales teams to create special and unique experiences our clients will always remember. Therefore, I am regretful that you feel your passion for travel was overlooked as this is a key driver in the Country Specialist role and what separates Audley from our competitors. Having said that, the role is still a Sales position and there are minimum expectations each month for our employees to reach, with the help and support of management, product and sales support functions. We strive on reaching excellent client satisfaction feedback on every single trip, and as such this has been built into our commission structure. We continue to review our salary, commission and benefits offering and as part of this our Head of Reward is currently reviewing the commission structure we have in place to ensure it is right and fit for Audley and our employees. We appreciate that the Country Specialist role is a demanding role, and as such continue to review ways we can best support our staff in juggling the various tasks involved. For example, we implemented the Sales Support and Quality Control functions to aid in the administrative aspects and are seeking to implement enhanced technology systems next year to help speed up processes. We value the importance of our clients having one point of contact throughout their entire Audley experience. This is something that sets us apart from our competitors and we will continue to encourage this strong, ongoing relationship, whilst simultaneously looking for ways to support this from a Country Specialist perspective. The Country Specialist role offers a clear career progression, enabling employees to further their skills in the role and reach more Senior sales positions. Outside of this we encourage internal movement of staff, including into other areas of the business such as Product or Operations. Our version of the annual appraisal – My Journey – was implemented to help support such conversations and encourage employees and managers to discuss career aspirations and how to reach this goal. Thank you once again for your feedback. Whilst I am pleased to hear that you have recognised that working for Audley is a great opportunity, I am disappointed by some of your other comments. Please do not hesitate to speak with me directly regarding any of the points above.

    Weniger anzeigen
  8. „Great company, going through growing pains”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Country Specialist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Audley Travel gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really fun environment almost everyone comes from a traveling background, as much as it is a sales job its not cut throat and everyone is willing to help everyone's success

    Kontras

    The pay does not match the amount of hours you work, they do provide lots of vacations time though

    Audley Travel2019-08-22
  9. „Great company spirit”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Hidden Beaches Specialist in Oxford, England
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Audley Travel gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Professionalism, team work, work hard play hard ethic, social aspect

    Kontras

    Numbers can be hard (same each month) and can easily turn into being very stressful.

    Audley Travel2019-07-31
  10. Hilfreich (2)

    „A company that rewards hard work and persistence, but you have to persevere”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Country Sales Specialist in London, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Audley Travel als Vollzeit

    Pros

    The initial 4 week Fam Trip is awesome and really helps you to build up a great knowledge of the core product. The rewards that you get after you have been here for 2 or more years are great for those who are able to make their sales targets.

    Kontras

    It is very hard to achieve your sales targets until you have been here for 2 years because you don't have repeat business, can't take on the richer "Elite" clients and you don't have in depth knowledge of a wide area, so it is not great money. If you can wait and get past 2 years, the money becomes fantastic.

    Rat an das Management

    If you want a lower attrition rate, you need to make some of the financial rewards more attainable to newer people. How many sales specialists have ever made their point in their first year?

    Audley Travel2019-06-20
190 Bewertungen gefunden